Allo' Expat Indonesia - Connecting Expats in Indonesia
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Indonesia Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter

   Information Center Indonesia
Indonesia General Information
Indonesia Expatriates Handbook
Useful Numbers
Immigration Information
  Entry Visa
Work Permit
Expatriate Associations in Indonesia
Indonesia and Foreign Government
Indonesia General Listings
Indonesia Useful Tips
Indonesia Education & Medical
Indonesia Travel & Tourism Info
Indonesia Lifestyle & Leisure
Indonesia Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Indonesia Immigration Information Entry Visa


Passport valid for at least six months from date of entry is required by all nationals.


There are three ways of entering Indonesia:

• visa waiver;
• visa on arrival;
• visa in advance.

Do note is that visa-free and visa-on-arrival visitors must enter Indonesia via specific ports of entry. Entry via other ports of entry will require a visa regardless of whether you are a visa-free or visa-on-arrival national or otherwise.

Visa Waiver

Indonesia allows visa free entry to the nationals of 12 countries. The nationals of these countries who are going on holiday, attending conventions or engaging in similar such activities are allowed to stay in Indonesia of up to 30 days without a visa. This type of visa cannot be extended, transferred or converted to any other kind of visa; nor can it be used as a working permit. Those visitors eligible under the visa waiver program have a visa issued at the Indonesian border checkpoints with that issuance subject to the discretion of the visa officer.

The nationals of the following countries are eligible: Brunei, Chile, Ecuador, Hong Kong SAR (Special Administrative Region), Macau SAR (Special Administrative Region), Malaysia, Morocco, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Visa on Arrival

All visitors entering Indonesia by way of visa-on-arrival must have a return ticket out of the country on their person when passing through immigration into the country.

Visas on arrival can be issued to nationals of Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Laos, Latvia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Surinam, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tunisia, UAE, UK and USA for a maximum of 30 days, which can be extended once only, for another 30 days at a local immigration office inside Indonesia.

As of January 2010, the only type of visa on arrival available is $25 for 30 days, which can be extended once only, for another 30 days. This can be done in an immigration office inside Indonesia for an officially published fee of Rp250,000, it is recommended to do this 10 days prior the visa expiration date. Exact change in dollars is also recommended, although a selection of other major currencies including rupiah may be accepted, and any change will usually be given in rupiah.

Note: Visitors who out-stay their visa will be fined $20 per day. Visitors staying longer than 60 days risk large fines and may face deportation or imprisonment. For longer stays or for non-tourist stays, apply for a visa in advance.

See more information on the next page... (next)




copyrights ©
2018 | Policy